Language Switcher

Steins;Gate (2011)

“Steins;Gate” is a 2011 Japanese TV anime series based on the game soft of the same name which was developed by 5pb. and Nitroplus, and was released for the Xbox 360 in 2009 (subsequently ported to Microsoft Windows, iOS, PlayStation 3, Android, PlayStation 4 and others). The series consists of 24 episodes and one special episode.

The original game is a visual novel game with a multi-ending story, and it features six heroines. The TV anime series depicts the story to the true ending of the original game.

It includes elements of alternate history science fiction, pure love story, and Japanese otaku culture, such as BBS, cosplay, maid café, and otokonoko (Japanese femboy or tomgirl).

Set in Akihabara, Tokyo in 2010. A university student and a self-proclaimed mad scientist, Rintaro Okabe spends his days with his friends developing geeky inventions in his Akihabara-based circle “Future Gadget Laboratory”.

One day Okabe and his friends find that one of their inventions – a microwave that can be remotely controlled via a cell-phone – has a function to send text messages to the past.

With further experiment and improvement, they develop “Time Leap Machine”, a device to send memory data to the brain of the receiver in the past. It follows that a secret organization seeks their lives.

Directed by Takuya Sato and Hiroshi Hamasaki. Animation produced by White Fox.

Steins;Gate (2011)
Steins;Gate (2011)
Steins Gate – US Trailer [HD]