Language Switcher

Traffic: Traffic (1968)


“Traffic” is the second studio album by Traffic, an English rock band formed in Birmingham, West Midlands in 1967 by Steve Winwood (vocals, guitar, keyboards), Jim Capaldi (drums), Chris Wood (flute, saxophone), and Dave Mason (vocals, guitar, bass).


The album was recorded in 1968. Produced by Jimmy Miller.

Released on Island Records in the United Kingdom, and United Artists in the United States. The album peaked at No. 9 in the UK albums chart and at No. 17 on the U. S. Billboard 200. 

Though Dave Mason had quit the band shortly after the release of the first album, he rejoined briefly during the recording sessions for this album.

Their debut album “Mr. Fantasy” (1967) had a psychedelic rock-oriented sound, whereas this album includes a mix of the elements of blues rock, folk rock, country rock, soul, jazzy improvisation, and psychedelic rock.

The album is divided into catchy folk-rock songs by Dave Mason and soul/jazz-oriented songs by the three members except Mason. Both of those songs are great.

“Feelin’ Alright?”, which was written by Dave Mason and released as a single, is a famous folk rock song covered by Joe Cocker and Three Dog Night.

Track Listing

Side One

  1. You Can All Join In – 3:34
  2. Pearly Queen – 4:20
  3. Don’t Be Sad – 3:24
  4. Who Knows What Tomorrow May Bring – 3:11
  5. Feelin’ Alright? – 4:16

Side Two

  1. Vagabond Virgin – 5:21
  2. Roamin’ Thru’ the Gloamin’ with 40,000 Headmen – 3:15
  3. Cryin’ to Be Heard – 5:14
  4. No Time to Live – 5:10
  5. Means to an End – 2:39
Traffic – You Can All Join In