Language Switcher

Harmonia: Deluxe (1975)


“Deluxe“ is the second album by the West German krautrock group Harmonia.

Background of the Production

Harmonia was a trio group formed by Cluster’s two members, Hans-Joachim Roedelius (keyboards, vocals) and Dieter Moebius (synthesizer, Nagoya harp, vocals) joined by Neu! guitarist Michael Rother in the rural village of Forst, Holzminden, Lower Saxony, West Germany in 1973.

Harmonia released two studio albums, “Musik von Harmonia“ (1974) and “Deluxe“ (1975), as limited editions on Hamburg-based record label Brain Records.

Harmonia’s music is based on improvisational jam sessions of Cluster’s Kosmische (cosmic) and ambient electronic rock with the addition of Rother’s guitar. It is characterized by its calm and comfortable sounds.



  • Hans-Joachim Roedelius – keyboards, vocals
  • Dieter Moebius – synthesizer, Nagoya harp, vocals
  • Michael Rother – guitar, keyboards, vocals

Guest Musician:

  • Mani Neumeier – drums

Track Listing

Music and concept by Michael Rother, Hans-Joachim Roedelius and Dieter Moebius.

  1. Deluxe (Immer Wieder) (Deluxe (Again and Again)) – 9:45
  2. Walky-Talky – 10:35
  3. Monza (Rauf und Runter) (Monza (Up and Down)) – 7:07
  4. Notre Dame – 4:15
  5. Gollum – 4:35
  6. Kekse (Biscuits) – 5:35


The album “Deluxe“ was recorded in Harmonia’s studio in Forst in 1975, and it was released on the Brain Records in the same year.

Mani Neumeier, who was a member of krautrock band Guru Guru, participated in the recording of the albuma on drums.

It was engineered by Conny Plank, and was co-produced by Harmonia and Conny Plank.

The album “Deluxe“ is more melodic and song-oriented than their previous album.

Their previous “Musik von Harmonia“ is a Cluster-tinged album, while “Deluxe“ is an album led by Rother.

The two tracks, “Deluxe (Immer Wieder)” and “Monza (Rauf und Runter)”, include vocals. The other four tracks are instrumental.

“Deluxe“ is a krautrock album that is characterized by its easy-to-listen-to and comfortable sound.

The tracks are made by incorporating synths and keyboards with live instruments, such as guitar, drums, and Nagoya harp. 

“Deluxe (Immer Wieder)” is a track featuring motorik beat like Kraftwerk’s “Autobahn” (1974).

“Walky-Talky“ is a long jam session.

“Monza (Rauf und Runter)” is a rock-oriented track like Neu!

“Kekse” includes sound effects like natural sounds, such as frogs croaking, birds chirping, and the murmur of a stream. It is an idyllic electronic music track filled with bliss like a sense of oneness with nature.

The album was first officially released on CD by Universal Music in 2004.

British–German independent record label Grönland Records released the remastered edition of the album on LP and CD in 2015.