Language Switcher

Coldcut: What’s That Noise? (1989)


“What’s That Noise?” is the first album by Coldcut, an English music duo formed by Jonathan More (drum machine, bass, percussion, keyboard, engineer, turntable, sampler) and Matt Black (synthesizer, drum machine, keyboard, engineer, turntable, sampler) in London in 1986, who is known as a pioneer of the UK electronic dance music/breakbeat in the innovative style, including cut-up, sampling and sound collage technique.


The album was released in 1989, and peaked at number 20 on the UK Albums Chart.

The album contains hip-hop-tinged experimental dance music based on acid house, which is characterized by the heavy use of sampling and scratching.

The guest vocalists are: Lisa Stansfield (an English singer), Mark E. Smith (The Fall), Junior Reid (Black Uhuru), Queen Latifah (an American singer and rapper), and Yazz (an English singer).

The album Includes singles, “Beats + Pieces”, “Doctorin’ the House” (number 6 on the UK Singles Chart), “Stop This Crazy Thing”, “People Hold On” (number 11 on the UK Singles Chart), and “My Telephone”.

Coldcut – Doctorin' The House (HQ)