Language Switcher

Kneebody: Anti-Hero (2017)


“Anti-Hero” is the ninth studio album by Kneebody, an American band formed in 2001 in Santa Monica, California, known for their hybrid music of jazz-based instrumental ensemble that incorporates funk, hip-hop, rock, and electronic music.

Background of the Production

Kneebody were formed around jazz saxophonist Ben Wendel (tenor saxophone, effects) with Nate Wood (drums), Shane Endsley (trumpet, effects), Adam Benjamin (electric piano, piano, synth), and Kaveh Rastegar (bass, guitar) in 2001. Their 2009 album “Twelve Songs by Charles Ives” with Theo Bleckmann was nominated for Best Classical Crossover Album in the 52nd Annual Grammy Awards. They made their major label debut with their album “The Line” released on Concord Records in 2013. 


The album “Anti-Hero” was recorded in 2015–2016, following up the collaboration album “Kneedelus” (2015) with electronic musician/record producer Daedelus, and was released on Motéma Music in 2017.

The album has cross-genre music like a mixture of jazz improvisation, the 1970s fusion/jazz rock, post-rock since the 1990s such as Tortoise, and electronic music. It is characterized by the heavy use of effects, such as fuzztone bass and electric piano (Fender Rhodes) distortion, and electronica/ambient-tinged tone colors.

“Drum Battle” is another version of the track of the same title in the album “Kneedelus”.

“Austin Peralta” is a tribute to jazz pianist and composer Austin Peralta, who died in 2012.

Kneebody – Uprising